ZionFireFriends
Supernatural and Fantasy - Printable Version

+- ZionFireFriends (https://zionfire.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Ministry Round Table (https://zionfire.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: Pastoral Perspectives (https://zionfire.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Thread: Supernatural and Fantasy (/showthread.php?tid=1046)

Supernatural and Fantasy - DeanZF - 05-18-2009

It's another of those questions that's been swirling around in my head for a couple of weeks. :hamster: At what level is fantasy okay and when is it sin? When does imagination and make believe move to the dark side?

I'm launching this here in hopes that some of our pastoral types will chime in with their own perspectives as this is really a hot button topic within the church where our teens and twenty-somethings are concerned. Heck, even as a woodworker, I'm confronted with it! More on that in a few paragraphs.

When I was a little kid, the television superhero was Superman. Every Saturday, his black and white, leotard and tights clad caped self came flying into my living room. Between Davy Crockett and Superman, I could not make up my mind what I really wanted to be when I grew up. I had a faded red bath towel that was my cape. I would assume the posture, usually either laying on the bed with one fist outstretched, on my way to do some world-saving good. I could hear the cheers from below, "Look, up in the sky! It's a bird, it's a plane, no, it's SUPER-DEAN! Some days I wore my coonskin cap, too. It must have been a sight.

I was imagining what it would be like to have super-powers. I was imagining what it would be like to be the best shooter in Tennessee with an Indian for a pal. I never jumped off the roof or out of trees to try and fly. I knew that when I jumped in the air like Superdude did, my feet never strayed far from the sod. I was not kidding myself. I knew who I was and I knew who I wasn't.